“Roles and responsibilities of president and minister”

Roles pf president, vice president and prime minister

“Descriptions of the President, the Prime Minister, and the Vice President”

In a presidential system of government, the head of state is the president. The president’s job varies based on the political system in which they operate. The president is essentially ceremonial and symbolic in certain systems, representing the country in diplomatic matters and fulfilling ceremonial tasks. Other systems may grant the president significant executive powers, such as the authority to make appointments, veto legislation, and command the armed forces.               notesplanet

In a parliamentary system of government, the prime minister is the head of government. Typically, the prime minister is the head of the political party or coalition of parties with the most seats in parliament. The prime minister is in charge of directing the government’s day-to-day operations, including the execution of policies and programmes, and is accountable to parliament for their actions.                      gkduniya 

A vice president is a high-ranking person in a government or organization who serves as the president’s or CEO’s second in command. In certain political systems, the vice president is elected independently from the president and has particular constitutional tasks, such as presiding over the Senate or taking over the presidency if the president dies, resigns, or is removed from office. In some systems, the vice president is appointed by the president and mostly acts as a ceremonial position or as a presidential counsellor.

“Table of all Indian Presidents and their Terms, including the Current President”

Name Tenure
Rajendra Prasad 1950-1962
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 1962-1967
Zakir Hussain 1967-1969
Varahagiri Venkata Giri 1969-1974
Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 1974-1977
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 1977-1982
Giani Zail Singh 1982-1987
Ramaswamy Venkataraman 1987-1992
Shankar Dayal Sharma 1992-1997
Kocheril Raman Narayanan 1997-2002
A. P. J. Abdul Kalam 2002-2007
Pratibha Patil 2007-2012
Pranab Mukherjee 2012-2017
Ram Nath Kovind 2017-2022
Droupadi Murmu 2022-present

“Table of all Indian Prime Ministers and their Terms, including the Current Prime Minister”

Name Tenure
Jawaharlal Nehru 1947-1964
Lal Bahadur Shastri 1964-1966
Indira Gandhi 1966-1977
Morarji Desai 1977-1979
Charan Singh 1979-1980
Indira Gandhi 1980-1984
Rajiv Gandhi 1984-1989
Vishwanath Pratap Singh 1989-1990
Chandra Shekhar 1990-1991
P. V. Narasimha Rao 1991-1996
Atal Bihari Vajpayee 1996 (for 13 days), 1998-2004
H. D. Deve Gowda 1996-1997
I. K. Gujral 1997-1998
Manmohan Singh 2004-2014
Narendra Modi 2014-present

“Table every one of the Vice Presidents of the nation of India, along with their tenure, including the current Vice President”

Name Tenure
Dr. S. Radhakrishnan 1952-1962
Dr. Zakir Hussain 1962-1967
Shri V. V. Giri 1967-1969
Shri Gopal Swarup Pathak 1969-1974
Shri B. D. Jatti 1974-1979
Shri Mohammad Hidayatullah 1979-1984
Shri R. Venkataraman 1984-1987
Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma 1987-1992
Shri Kocheril Raman Narayanan 1992-1997
Shri Krishan Kant 1997-2002
Shri Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 2002-2007
Shri Mohammad Hamid Ansari 2007-2017
Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu 2017-2022
Jagdeep Dhankhar        2022-present


“Eligibility Criteria for the Offices of the President, Vice President, and Prime Minister of India”

Eligibility for the office of President of India:

  • Candidate must be an Indian citizen.
  • The person who is must be at least 35 years old.
  • The candidate must be eligible to serve in the Lok Sabha (the lower house of Parliament).
  • The person in question must not hold any profitable position in the Government of India, any State, or any Union Territory.

India’s Vice President:

  •  an Indian citizen.
  •  At least 35 years old.
  •  qualified to serve in the Rajya Sabha (the upper chamber of Parliament).
  • They must not hold any profit-making position in the Government of India, any State, or any Union Territory.

 India’s Prime Minister:

  •  be a Indian citizen.
  •  a member of the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha.
  •   minimum 25 years old.
  • A person must not occupy any profit-making post in the Government of India or any State or Union Territory.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here