Cabinet Ministers and Their Governmental Roles

Cabinet Ministers
India's Cabinet Ministers and Their Responsibilities

“What Is Cabinet Ministers and  Roles in Government?”

Cabinet ministers are senior government officials appointed by the head of government (such as the Prime Minister or President) to manage numerous ministries or departments.

These ministers are in charge of carrying out government policies, overseeing their ministries, and advising the head of government on topics pertaining to their portfolios. Cabinet ministers are normally chosen from among the elected members of the ruling party or coalition and are regarded members of the executive arm of government.

the members of the cabinet, which is the main decision-making body of the government in parliamentary democracies such as the United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia. Cabinet ministers are selected by the president in presidential systems such as the United States and France and may or may not be approved by the legislature.

The number of cabinet ministers and the precise ministries they supervise varies by nation and government structure. There may be hundreds of cabinet ministers in certain countries, but only a few in others.

India’s Cabinet Ministers in 2023

Sr. N. Cabinet Minister Ministry
1 Shri Narendra Modi
  • Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions
  • Department of Atomic Energy
  • Department of Space
2 Shri Raj Nath Singh
  • Ministry of Defence
3 Shri Amit Shah
  • Ministry of Home Affairs
  • Ministry of Cooperation
4 Shri Nitin Jairam Gadkari
  • Ministry of Road Transport and Highways
5 Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman
  • Ministry of Finance
  • Minister of Corporate Affairs
6 Shri Narendra Singh Tomar
  • Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
7 Dr. Subrahmanyam Jaishankar
  • Ministry of External Affairs
8 Shri Arjun Munda
  • Ministry of Tribal Affairs
9 Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani
  • Ministry of Women and Child Development
  • Ministry of Minority Affairs
10 Shri Piyush Goyal
  • Ministry of Commerce and Industry
  • Consumer Affairs, Food, and Public Distribution Ministry
  • Ministry of Textiles
11 Shri Dharmendra Pradhan
  • Ministry of Education
  • Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship
12 Shri Pralhad Joshi
  • Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs
  • Ministry of Coal
  • Ministry of Mines
13 Shri Narayan Tatu Rane
  • Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
14 Shri Sarbananda Sonowal
  • Ministry of AYUSH
  • Ministry of Ports, Shipping and Waterways
15 Dr. Virendra Kumar
  • Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment
16 Shri Giriraj Singh
  • Ministry of Rural Development
  • Minister of Panchayati Raj
17 Shri Jyotiraditya M. Scindia
  • Ministry of Civil Aviation
  • Ministry of Steel
18 Shri Ashwini Vaishnaw
  • Ministry of Railways
  • Ministry of Communications
  • Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology
19 Shri Pashu Pati Kumar Paras
  • Ministry of Food Processing Industries
20 Shri Gajendra Singh Shekhawat
  • Ministry of Jal Shakti
21 Shri Kiren Rijiju
  • Ministry of Law and Justice
22 Shri Raj Kumar Singh
  • Ministry of Power
  • Ministry of New and Renewable Energy
23 Shri Hardeep Singh Puri
  • Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas
  • Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs
24 Shri Mansukh Mandaviya
  • Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
  • Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers
25 Shri Bhupender Yadav
  • Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change
  • Ministry of Labour and Employment
26 Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey
  • Ministry of Heavy Industries
27 Shri Parshottam Rupala
  • Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying
28 Shri G. Kishan Reddy
  • Ministry of Culture;
  • Ministry of Tourism; and
  • Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region
29 Shri Anurag Singh Thakur
  • Ministry of Information and Broadcasting; and
  • Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here