Railway Zone In India

railway zone
railway zone in India

Railway Zone In India

Railroad Zones in India – Indian Railways is claimed and worked by the Government of India through the Ministry of Railways. Railroads was first acquainted with India in the year( 1853) from Bombay to Thane. In 1951 the frameworks were nationalized as one unit, the Indian Railways, getting probably the biggest organization on the planet.

Indian Railways is isolated into 17 zones, which are further sub-partitioned into divisions. The number of zones in Indian Railways expanded from six to eight of every 1951, nine out of 1966, and sixteen out of 2003. Each zonal railroad is comprised of a specific number of divisions, each having a divisional base camp. There is a sum of 68 divisions. Each zone is going by a senior supervisor, who reports straightforwardly to the Railway Board.

railway zone of India

S.No. Name Headquarter Established Date
1. North Eastern Railway Gorakhpur 1952
2. Northern Railway Delhi 14 April 1952
3. Northeast Frontier Railway Maligaon(Guwahati) 1958
4. South Eastern Railway Kolkata 1955
5. Eastern Railway Kolkata 1952
6. South Central Railway Secunderabad 1966
7. Central Railway Mumbai 5 November 1951
8. Southern Railway Chennai 14 April 1951
9. Western Railway Mumbai 5 November 1951
10. North Western Railway Jaipur 1 Oct 2002
11. South Western Railway Hubli 1 April 2003
12. West Central Railway Jabalpur 1 April 2003
13. East Central Railway Hajipur 1 Oct 2002
14. North Central Railway Allahabad 1 April 2003
15. Konkan Railway Navi Mumbai 26 Jan 1998
16. South East Central Railway Bilaspur 1 April 2003
17. East Coast Railway Bhubaneswar 1 April 2003


Tags: railway zones in india map, railway zones in india pdf, railway zones in india UPSC, railway zones in india in hindi, railway zones and their headquarters, smallest railway zone in india, railway zones in india ssc, top railway zones in india.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here