Offical language of India

Offical language of India
Offical language of India

Offical language of India

Offical language of India: Our Consitution didn’t give the situation with public language to any one language. Hindi was announce the official language of the country. However, Hindi is a language verbally expressed by just 40% of the Indian populace. As a result, the majority of the population would face difficulties as everyone would be required to learn Hindi, which is impossible.

The Indian Constitution mandates that the national government communicate in Hindi and English as its official languages. Furthermore, it contains a rundown of 22 authority dialects (counting Hindi and English). These dialects are qualified for portrayal on the Authority Language Commission, and an up-and-comer in an assessment led for public taxpayer driven organization might pick to take the test in any of these dialects.

language of India

S.No. Language Name State
1. Assamese Arunachal Pradesh, Assam
2. Bengali Tripura, West Bengal
3. Bodo Assam
4. Dogri, Kashmiri Jammu and Kashmir
5. Gujarati Gujarat, Daman and Diu
6. Hindi Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Bihar, Daman and Diu, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Mizoram, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and West Bengal
7. Kannada Karnataka
8. Konkani Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka and Kerala
9. Maithili Jharkhand, Bihar
10. Malayalam Lakshadweep, Kerala, Puducherry
11. Manipuri Manipur
12. Marathi Maharashtra, Goa, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
13. Nepali Sikkim and West Bengal
14. Odia Orissa
15. Punjabi Punjab and Chandigarh, Delhi and Haryana
16. Sanskrit Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh
17. Sindhi Gujarat and Maharashtra
18. Tamil Tamil Nadu, Puducherry
19. Telugu Telangana and Puducherry, Andhra Pradesh
20. Urdu Jammu and Kashmir, Telangana, Jharkhand, Delhi, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal


  • Sindhi language was added by the 21st Amendment Demonstration of 1967.
  • Konkani, Nepali, and Manipuri were incorporated by the 71st Amendment Demonstration of 1992.
  • The 92nd Amendment Act of 2003 added Bodo, Dogri, Maithili, and Santhali.

Official Language of India

Official Language of India Two languages have been selected to serve as the central government’s official languages:

  1. Hindi is the language involved by the Focal Government according to Article 343 while speaking with the territories of Hindi Belt.

2. English is the Partner official language and the language to be utilized while speaking with the states.


Important Links

Facebook:  Notesplanet

Instagram: Notesplanet1 

Tags: india official languages hindi, india official languages english, how many languages in india, how many languages in india unofficial, most spoken languages in india, mother tongue of india, does india have a national language, oldest language in india



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here